Author Topic: Cheatgrass or foxtail  (Read 8976 times)

royaltine

• Administrator
Cheatgrass or foxtail
« on: December 05, 2011, 07:41:36 PM »
I have a dog that had an abscess on the side of his rib cage. My local vet lanced it a month ago and it was looking good. The lance finally healed over a few days ago and then the abscess started up again 5 days ago and burst the scar where the first one had healed. Went to another vet today and he said there is most likely plant fiber like cheat grass or foxtail in the chest cavity behind a rib and suggested surgery for about 800 bucks but says he only has about a 50% chance of finding it. He suggested another vet in Spokane, Wa that would do the surgery for about 1200-1500 with about an 80% chance of finding it. Is this along the lines of what you would think?

Common sense would tell me, it would eventually work it self out or get absorbed by the body, but that is not the vibe I'm getting from the vets.

Any with any experience with this?

Linkback: http://www.royaltine.com/forum/bird-hunters-forum/32/cheatgrass-foxtail/2050/

If you're lucky enough to be in the mountains, you're lucky enough!

philip

Re: Cheatgrass or foxtail
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2011, 03:24:21 AM »
No experience with dogs but any abscess needs to be open long enough for it to completely drain the infection or sorce to heal.  I would try to open the area again if it isnt, and if it isnt too much discomfort to the dog, irrigate the cavity four times a day with saline or salt water solution you can get from your ag store or even an antibiotic solution if the drainage is purlent ( like pus).  If the vet was agreeable, he (or you) could sew a small drain into the opening to keep it open until drainage stops.  Hope it helps and I am way cheaper.

philip

« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2011, 04:21:36 AM »